Tropical Resort Sal Cape Verde

Tropical Resort Reviews

Trip Advisor
>>> Swipe to see next review >>>

Perfect location for a convenient and relaxing holiday

Amazing location with pretty friendly people, a clean beach just a few metres from the resort, numerous restaurants and markets around and a high quality of the rooms with a great and large outdoor pool. I can recommend this to everybody who is looking for a convenient and relaxing beach holiday. It’s simply perfect!

NiklasFrom Bad Gleichenberg, Austria. Reviewed in December 2019 for a stay in November 2019

…wouldn’t hesitate to go back

Good location 5 min walk from the beach. A few nice bars on the street in front of the complex. Valerie’s good Italian home made deserts and the Britannia both with good WiFi. There’s also a couple of grocery store in that row. Short walk 10-15 min to town centre if you want more. All in all good place clean and tidy very quiet wouldn’t hesitate to go back.

JohnFrom Long Eaton, UK. Reviewed in November 2019 for a stay in November 2019

Just great

Very good, clean, just great

Einfach toll

Sehr gut, sauber, einfach toll

Verafrom Köln, Germany. Reviewed in September 2019 for a stay in August 2019.

Great place

Great place, quiet (there weren’t many people, I don’t know how it usually is), Philip is very helpful and reactive, taxi was arranged from and to the airport.

Thibautfrom Liège, Belgium. Reviewed in July 2019 for a stay in July 2019

Location very close to the beach

The apartment is very clean, the mattresses are comfortable and the location very close to the beach and the restaurant area 10 minutes, so great. He also sent a very good taxi driver to pick us up, who then took us on a tour of the island.

Localizacion muy cerca de la playa

El apartamento esta muy limpio, los colchones son comodos y la localizacion muy cerca de la playa y de la zona de restaurantes a 10 minutos, asi que genial. Tambien envio a recogernos a un taxista muy bueno que luego nos hizo un recorrido por la isla.

Sarafrom Gran Tarajal, Canary Islands, Spain. Reviewed in June 2019 for a stay in June 2019

We would recommend

We had a lovely stay in Philip’s apartment. Philip was a very helpful host, always available on WhatsApp. The hotel was not fully occupied but still had a nice feel to it. It was relaxing and quiet and great location as 2 minute walk to the beach and 1 minute to a few shops, bars and restaurants. The Main Street in Santa Maria was only 10 minute walk away. We would recommend.

Jamesfrom Maidstone, UK. Reviewed in February 2019 for a stay in February 2019

Will recommend this apartment to others

We had a wonderful stay in this apartment. It is in 5-10 minutes walking distance to beaches and restaurants in centrum of Santa Maria. Philip arranged taxi and change of towels in a quick way. Everything was well, and we did not miss anything. Will recommend this apartment to others

Stålefrom Sandvika, Norway. Reviewed in February 2019 for a stay in February 2019

A great apartment close to the pool, beach, and restaurants

The apartment is very clean with everything you need. Hot water for showering and plenty of space in both the living and sleeping room. There is a baby cot available and the accommodation is within walking distance of restaurants and the beach. we would definitely recommend it to others.

Judith and Vincentfrom Heerde, Netherlands. Reviewed in January 2019 for a stay in December 2018

A cosy apartment with a nice swimming pool not far from the sea and the centre. A team well organised and serious. A place with various activities to do on the island of Sal and others around. All with a lot of sun and fantastic native guides. A place to go indeed!

Marie and Pierrefrom Liège, Belgium. Reviewed in January 2019 for a stay in December 2018
Fun in the sun!
We spent a sun drenched week relaxing in this lovely apartment with our 4yr old and 14week old in the third week of November. The apartment was adequately equipped for our self catering stay with everything we needed, from hair dryers to bottle openers, cheese graters to clothes airers. We ate out for more than half our stay but managed to prepare several meals within the apartment also. The gardens are well maintained and we had the pool to ourselves for a few afternoons! It seemed to be the perfect time to visit as there were very few people around yet the weather was amazing. The beach is beautiful, soft sand and clear turquoise water only a minute or two from the apartment. Local shops are not what we have in the U.K but with some adaptations and imagination you can create some enjoyable meals. We did wander in to town and there are some lovely little shops around but we found the relaxing beach was really all we needed. The is nothing to do for children in the area and we didn’t attempt any excursions with two children either but once again the beach and pool were enough to keep them entertained for the week. The owner was exceptionally helpful from my first enquiry as well as throughout our stay. Communication was excellent and any queries were answered in no more than a few hours. All in all we had a lovely stay and would recommend it for couples more than families but definitely do-able for both!
Leighfrom Cheltenham, UK. Reviewed in November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

A lovely relaxing holiday in the sun

We visited Philip’s apartment in March for ten days and had a lovely relaxing holiday. We were met at the airport without any problems and the transfer which was arranged by Philip took about half an hour. The apartment was very well located and clean and tidy and had everything we needed. There was a very nice terrace with a view over the swimming pool – a nice place to sit with a glass of wine! We did not cook but ate out at some very nice restaurants all within walking distance. There are also small local supermarkets round the corner where you can buy wine, milk, cheese, nibbles, rolls etc . We went on a very enjoyable tour of the island that was arranged for us by Gil and walked to the botanical gardens which took us just over an hour. The white sandy beaches were beautiful and very uncrowded and only a few minutes walk from the apartment.

Bob and Cynthiafrom Worthing, UK. Reviewed in April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Highly recommend

Philip’s place was perfect for a quiet holiday get away, very close to the beach and the town centre. Philip was also a great host with quick responses and very helpful information on the local area. We hope to return again in the future and would highly recommend.

Sarahfrom Newcastle upon Tyne, UK. Reviewed in April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Great value, relaxing and comfortable stay

The apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable. With a great pool area. Set within a lovely, quiet apartment block, a short walk to the beach, supermarkets and restaurants.

Emileefrom London, UK. Reviewed in April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Quiet and peaceful location not far from beach

The apartment was accurately described and clean. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The apartment location is excellent, being close enough to the beach and some good local shops. Views to the rear of the property weren’t optimum, but the view from the patio (of the pool and gardens) was very nice and we had breakfast outdoors most mornings. We found two or three nice places to eat out, one of which – ‘By Valeria’ – does truly excellent pizzas and is just around the corner. Cocktails and food in Cam’s, at the other end of town, were also very fine. Overall, we’d be very happy to recommend this apartment to our friends at the price asked.

Sue and Geofffrom Leeds. Reviewed in March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We would highly recommend staying here

A quiet location, very clean, and and Philip was very quick to respond to any of our questions and he also gave very helpful local tips! Close to the beach and the bars and restaurants just around the corner serve nice food and have a good atmosphere. However they are slightly over priced compared to the main town presumably due to close proximity to the beach hotels, but the main town is only a five minute walk away. We would highly recommend staying here.

Lukefrom Canterbury, UK. Reviewed in March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

An amazing holiday and a great place to stay during it!!

Tropical Resort area was very beautiful and the pool was great. We felt the location was good, it was not in the centre of Santa Maria so it was quite peaceful, but not too far to walk there (about 1,5km along the beautiful streets beside the sea). It was at the edge of the desert which we thought was beautiful, but there was also some restaurants, mini markets, cafes, car & bike hiring offices etc. next to it, and there was always people guarding the resort area, so we felt very safe. The staff was very friendly, and Philip answered always quickly whenever we had any questions. The apartment was very nice and well equipped, although quite basic, but we thought it was great. You could also buy breakfast from Tropical Resort restaurant for 7 euros. There was only 2 sunbed cushions at the apartment and we were 3 people, and it was quite uncomfortable to sunbathe without one. There was also no hand soap or dishwashing liquid which we had to buy ourselves. There was a portable wifi in the apartment that you could put credit on (we put 10 euros, it lasted about 5 days) but it didn’t always work very well. But I guess that’s the case in Cape Verde generally. There was wifi in the Bailey’s restaurant next to the resort, so we used that one quite often. The beach was very near too, a couple of minutes walk from the apartment, it was great. We rented bikes for a day and a car for one day and it was great to see the island. We recommend seeing Ponta Preta beach and the beautiful sand dune, Shark Bay and Pedra de Lume salt craters (you could swim there, it was fun). Altogether, we had an amazing holiday and a great place to stay during it!!

Linneafrom Jyväskylä, Finland. Reviewed in January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Fantastic Christmas and New Years Eve on Sal

We had a fantastic Christmas and New Years Eve on Sal, Cape Verde. We stayed in the well equipped apartment of Philip and Roger in Tropical Resort, Santa Maria. Within walking distance of the beaches and the village. Sun, sea, beach and a nice atmosphere, a real “No Stress” holiday.

Gerardfrom Hooghalen, Netherlands. Reviewed in January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My wife and I have already decided that we will definitely return

These apartments are located 15 minutes walk from the very center of the town of Santa Maria, in the area where the hotels are located, they are built on the 1st line. On the 2nd line is a group of apartments, among which is the Tropical Resort! The place is safe, comfortable, near the representative offices of tourist companies that offer excursions around the island, laundry, small shops with food, water and alcohol, bars and restaurants, where there are many tourists. Regular flight Tap Portugal arrives on the island not quite successfully, late at night, so there were minor concerns with obtaining keys and chek in the apartments. However, the fears were in vain, since we were met (at an additional cost) at the airport and the driver already had keys from the apartments. In the morning the representative came directly to us and told about all the nuances, helped to buy a SIM card for the Internet (very inexpensive 8 euros for 3 GB). In the apartment there is a router, which allows you to connect several devices. Thank you for a few bottles of water, kindly left in the fridge. Territory Tropical Resort with a nice swimming pool, shower, sun beds, well-groomed, very close to the restaurant with Italian cuisine. But we took advantage of the pool once, because we arrived to the Ocean, but some people were constantly resting by the pool. To the beach 5-7 minutes, where you can rent umbrellas and sun loungers. The ocean, even despite the wind in the winter, was beautiful. In short, everything was great, the food can be cooked in the kitchen, which has everything you need (except the dishwasher) with a full set of dishes, pans. What can be improved? by and large, nothing, but if absolutely to be picky, then we lacked several hooks for towels and clothes in the bathroom, individual towels for the beach and pool and a small low water tap at the entrance to the apartments or the resort to wash their feet after the beach. The owner of the apartment Philip, thank you very much, because he and his representative Gil were almost always on call and at any time were ready to help with advice or business. But since we are experienced travellers (before Cape Verde visited 123 countries of the world), we did not bother with our questions! Philip, my wife and I have already decided that we will definitely return, maybe we’ll take friends or parents with us!

Alexanderfrom Moscow, Russia. Reviewed in January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Calm and quiet holiday in the top apartment

Good and fresh apartment with perfect location a bit outside town. We appreciated the tranquility and the pool a lot. Close to the beach and town though. Well-equipped apartment, and nice with fans in each room.

Lung och varm semester i toppenlägenhet

Bra och fräsch lägenhet med perfekt läge en bit utanför stan. Vi uppskattade lugnet och poolen mycket. Nära till stranden och stan dock. Välutrustad lgh, och skönt med fläktar i varje rum.

Ingafrom Täby, Sweden. Reviewed in December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Overall a great place to stay in Sal

When we arrived to Tropical Resort we were very happy as the pool area was clean quiet and very well kept. It looked very pretty with the gardens around it too. It is a 3 minute walk to the beach and there are 2 small shops and 3 restaurants just around the corner. The apartment is clean and perfect size for a couple or small family. Overall a great place to stay in Sal and I would recommend it and return again.

Jessfrom Warrington, UK. Reviewed in December 2017 for a visit in November 2017

Nice apartment

Nice apartment on the ground floor. Everything is just basic but sufficient for a nice holiday. You step outside and are at the pool. 300 meters away is the amazing beautiful sea with a beautiful beach. We certainly remember this for the future.

Leuk appartement

Leuk appartement op begaande vloer. Alles is gewoon basic maar voldoende voor een leuke vakantie. Je stapt naar buiten en bent bij het zwembad. 300 meter verder is de geweldige mooi zee met een mooi strand. Wij onthouden dit zeker voor de toekomst.

Hans and Vonne from Almere, Netherlands. Reviewed November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

‘…you made our stay perfect’

The organisation in advance and on location was unbelievable, Philip was so lovely and answered all our questions. Lorena took care of everything during our stay and was so lovely too. Thank you so much guys, you made our stay perfect, we will come back! The apartment is nice and very well located, everything is clean, highly recommended!

Susannefrom Berlin, Germany. Reviewed in November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great location

We had a lovely time at Philip’s place. He was great at communicating before and throughout the stay. The apartment was in a great location and the pool was lovely too! The only down side was that it lacked air conditioning but there are still ceiling fans which helped.

Response:

Thank you for your review Michael. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we will be able to welcome you back sometime. Most apartments don’t have air conditioning as it is not normally necessary, only in the months of August and September, when it is hotter and more humid, would it be ideal. However, being on the ground floor the apartment is cooler, and with insect screens the windows can be left open and the powerful ceiling fans work well.

Philip

Michaelfrom Beckenham, England. Reviewed in August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very peaceful

Good condominium. Very peaceful. Great swimming pool. Well equipped apartment, comfortable and clean. Close to the beach and 10/15 min walk to the village center. Optimal and easy communication with the owner.

Bom condominio. Muito tranquilo. Optima piscina. Apartamento bem equipado, confortavel e limpo. Perto da praia e a 10/15 min a pé do centro da vila. Óptima e facil comunicaçao com o proprietário.

Olgafrom Viseu, Portugal. Reviewed in May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The apartment is great

The place is really great and has everything it needs. The apartment is great, clean, located right by the beautiful pool in a beautiful garden area and is only 300m from the great beach. To the center is not far and in the immediate vicinity is a small supermarket and restaurants. We were already welcomed at the airport of Theresa and then led by Lorena friendly through the apartment and the complex. If we had a concern, we could at any time turn to Lorena and it was helped us quickly and competently. In the run-up Philip and Roger gave us great support during the travel preparations and gave great tips. Thank you very much! An all-round great holiday and definitely highly recommended. Thank you Philip !!

Die Unterkunft ist wirklich grossartig und bietet alles was es braucht. Die Wohnung ist toll eingerichtet, sauber, liegt direkt am schönen Pool in einer wunderschönen Gartenanlage und ist nur 300m vom tollen Strand entfernt. Bis ins Zentrum ist es nicht weit und in unmittelbarer Nähe befindet sich ein kleiner Supermarkt und Restaurants. Wir wurden bereits am Flughafen von Theresa herzlich empfangen und dann von Lorena freundlich durch die Wohnung und die Anlage geführt. Hatten wir ein Anliegen, konnten wir uns jederzeit an Lorena wenden und es wurde uns rasch und kompetent geholfen. Im Vorfeld haben uns Philip und Roger super bei den Reisevorbereitungen unterstützt und tolle Tipps gegeben. Herzlichen Dank dafür! Ein rundum toller Urlaub und auf jeden Fall sehr zu empfehlen. Vielen Dank Philip!!

Michellefrom Muri, Switzerland. Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great Apartment

Great apartment, clean, well equipped and very comfortable. Complex quiet whilst we were there, some days we had the large pool to ourselves. Short walk into village along beach front. There were three small restaurants and a couple of small shops selling basic groceries just a one minute walk from apartment. We contacted Philip to see if there were any cushions for sun beds which were wooden, unfortunately there were none, Philip managed to purchase two and they were delivered to the apahttps://www.salstay.com/wp-admin/edit.php?post_type=hotels_testimonialrtment, what a great service! Would use this apartment again.

Juliefrom The Wirral, UK. Reviewed in April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a really lovely stay in Sal

The apartment was well located, the beach was nearby! It was also well-equipped and spacious. The swimming-pool was quite nice as well . The apartment was very close to the centre (close to bars and restaurants). Lorena (Philip´s contact in Sal) was very helpful. Everything went so smooth!

Anne-Catherinefrom Bergen, Norway. Reviewed March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Quiet and relaxing

Within a few minutes walk to town and even less to the fabulous beach this apartment was near everything but retained a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Its a small cluster of apartments and a small hotel (yet to open). The apartment is well maintained and clean with all you need in the kitchen. The bed was very comfortable and a good nights sleep was achieved every night.

Tropical Resort is only 2 minutes from the casino, local bars and restaurants etc. We were collected from the airport by taxi driver Theresa who was extremely helpful and informative. Santa Maria is in the process of being developed but the resort is tucked away from any disruption.
We heartily recommend this apartment.

John and Lukefrom London, UK. Reviewed March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A lovely apartment in a great location close to the beach

This was my second visit to Philip’s apartment, which is comfortable and well appointed. The terrace is the perfect place to eat breakfast, as it gets the morning sun. The gardens are lovely and well looked after. The pool is also lovely. There is a new restaurant alongside the two existing ones, very close by that was a great place to eat and stocks a large variety of beers, including many from Belgium. All three restaurants offer different things.

The apartment is as described in the listing and was clean and well maintained. The owner was very helpful and so was the house manager. I would certainly recommend it to others and I hope to return.

Rogerfrom Worthing, UK. Reviewed in February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We can’t wait to go back

We loved every minute of our stay at Tropical Resort. Philip’s place was perfect for us and the location is ideal, close to bars, restaurants, cafés and less than 5 mins from the beach. The flat is spacious in excellent condition and we liked the fact that it was ground floor with a generous terrace overlooking the beach and the palm trees. It’s a stone throw away from the beach and the cafes. We can’t wait to go back.

Carinefrom Reading, UK. Reviewed January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A nice relaxing and quiet place

Me and my husband really liked staying at Philip’s place. It was clean,tidy and everything worked the way how it was supposed to. Philip is a great host,one of the best we have ever had!very hands on,any question you might have he will reply within few minutes! also big thumbs up to Lorena (house manager) who waited for us at the apartment (transfers also organised by Philip!!) and kindly took us to the centre and showed us places where to have a nice meal!she also arranged for someone to come to tell us about all the available trips 🙂 if you are after nice relaxing and quiet place dont look anywhere else! 🙂

Response:

So pleased you had a good time, thank you for being perfect guests!

Philip

Mishafrom London, UK. Reviewed December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Best place to stay in Santa Maria

Lorena (the house manager) picked us up at the airport and drove us to the beautiful tropical resort. The apartment was very clean and Philip answered all question we had during our stay immediately via WhatsApp. The pool is nice and has some shadow places around. The beach is close and easy to reach (even our younger daughter (2 1/2 years) could walk the way). The beach is really beautiful and not many people around. We loved our stay there and would recommend it to everybody. It is quiet as it is not directly in the city Santa Maria but close enough to enjoy all the bars and restaurants as well.

Tanjafrom Berlin, Germany. Reviewed in December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My family enjoyed every minute of our stay

We found in Tropical Resort everything we had come for. The flat was very nice and comfortable, all the devices worked perfectly. The area around the pool and the garden are very beautiful and clean. My family enjoyed every minute of our stay in Santa Maria. Philip was contactable at all time, and everything went well!

Emmafrom Noisy-le-Sec, France. Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Excellent accommodation

This was my first visit to the island of Sal and therefore my first visit to this apartment. I certainly hope I will get to return. The apartment is well appointed and has a lovely patio that gets the morning sun and makes a lovely place to enjoy a sunny, relaxing breakfast. Being on the ground floor, it offers easy access to the tropical gardens and the swimming pool. The bed was extremely comfortable and apartment was very quiet at night, all leading to good sleeping conditions. The development is attractive and there are bars and shops close by. Sal offers marvellous beaches, excellent weather and plenty of activities to enjoy, such as quad-biking, kite-surfing, swimming and surfing. There are good restaurants and bars, offering variety to suit all travellers.

Reviewed 02 Feb 2016 by Roger, United Kingdom

Rogerfrom Worthing, UK. Reviewed in February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

First time in Sal

We loved our holiday in Sal! The apartment was very clean, and everything you needed was there. When we had questions on our first couple of days we could always ask the house manager, he was always around. Or we could email Philip, the house owner. The contact was very good; we would always get an answer the same day! Philip made sure we had all the information we needed to stay on Sal, like the location of the supermarkets, the restaurants, etc. Everything is in walking distance. Kite beach isn’t far away, I would say 10 minutes with the car, so we went there a lot to kite! Santa Maria is a peaceful town; if you want a holiday where there are not many people around you have to go to Sal. You are totally relaxed, and the beach is beautiful! You can book a lot of things like snorkeling, diving, driving a quad for the day etc. There is plenty of stuff to do as a tourist. The food is amazing, and not expensive, the fish is always fresh and very good. We had a nice stay and we would definitely recommend it!! Thank you Philip to be an excellent host, you answered all of our questions and made sure we had the best stay!

Maïté and Tomfrom Veltem-Beisem, Belgium. Reviewed in April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Spacious, clean apartment

We just returned from a 12 days trip to Sal. Had a splendid time over there but, if you’re not a surfer or beach lover, I would recommend a stay of 10 days max. The apartment is spacious and very clean as are the surroundings. Staff is very helpful. The apartment is well equipped and supermarkets and not far away so you can easily get your Bread, ham, eggs and yoghurt in the morning for breakfast. The terrace on this ground floor apartment is bigger than the balconies on the first or 2nd floor. We had a wonderful time in this quiet and practical apartment and will certainly recommend it to our friends!

Reviewed Mar 2015 by Barbara from the Netherlands

Barbarafrom The Netherlands. Reviewed in March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Over and above our expectations

We have just come back from a wonderful Christmas and New Year’s at Philip’s flat in Santa Maria. We couldn’t have had a nicer time there. Philip was a wonderful host; he thought of absolutely everything and went over and above our expectations, making sure we were happy before leaving and even giving us tips for where to go for New Year’s Eve. The flat is very well situated, a short two minute walk to a stunning beach that goes on for miles and near to all the restaurants. It is in a quiet area so no disturbances at night when you want to relax. I would highly recommend it!

Felicityfrom London, UK. Reviewed in January 2015

Great All Round

The apartment was lovely and Philip was a wonderful host. Arrived just before high season begun and so was very quiet which is not a negative. Made for a truly relaxing holiday plus the pool (which is a great feature of Tropical Resorts) wasn’t overcrowded! Good location for all you’ll need. Really great all round. Would stay again.

Response:

Hi Hannah

Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review. It was great to meet you girls, I am pleased you liked Santa Maria. Hope to see you again soon.

Philip

Hannahfrom London, UK. Reviewed in April 2014

Perfect! Also for families with kids

Very clean apartment, ideal also for families. My two kids enjoyed – after diving in the sea – also the pool in the evening. My wife and I could enjoy a bottle of good Capeverdian red wine. Very silent, short walk to the beach, good restaurants and shops around the corner, where we bought some food to cook “at home”. Great Value!

Response:

Hi Chris,

I am so pleased you had a lovely holiday. I hope you come back again soon… If you feel like exploring some of the other islands there are some amazing things to see there too and I have some good contacts.

Best regards.

Philip

Chrisfrom Switzerland. Reviewed April 2014

Excellent!

We stayed at this apartment last holiday and it was excellent! The location is good, the apartment is very comfortable, clean and well furnished and Philip as a host is very attentive and thoughtful! At the time we were staying, in the beginning of April it was low season and very quiet. In the mornings I would have been the only one at the poolside. There are few good cafes nearby to have breakfast in the morning and late glass of wine or champagne before sleep. I would highly recommend this place to anyone going to Sal.

Reviewed April 2014 by Karin from Estonia

Response:

Dear Karin,

Thank you for taking the time to send a review, we hope to see you soon!

Philip

Karinfrom Estonia. Reviewed in April 2014

Comfortable and relaxing

We rented this apartment during our 10 days windsurf vacation in Santa Maria.

The apartment is really comfortable and relaxing. The pool is very nice, the atmosphere is easy going and friendly. We can warmly recommend renting this apartment and a trip to Sal. Take care and thanks for a great holiday.

All the best Ricky

RickyReviewed in February 2014

A great stay in Cape Verde!

During our 2 week kitesurfing trip we stayed in this apartment. We were three guys in the age 30 to 40. Booking: The owner replied quickly and I got a lot of information prior to booking the apartment. We got a lot of good information in the welcome information package. Checkin: We came to the flat at the scheduled time and was personally greeted and could ask questions and got some good advice for our stay. The flat was nice and clean. We had no complaints what so ever. The apartment: There is a big bedroom with a double bed and a big wardrobe, an extra bedroom with two single beds, an open kitchen/living room and a bath room with shower and laundry machine. The apartment was very fresh and didn’t show any signs of wear and tear. There was plenty of bed linen and towels to last our stay without any extra laundry. The laundry machine was great as we could wash our cloth instead of binging a lot of cloth with us. The kitchen was equipped for most kind of cooking, but we did eat out most of the time. The pool outside is big and nice. Usually the pool only look big on pictures, but this one was actually big in reality as well. We travelled during easter 2013 and the place was not crowded at all. No need to “book” the sun chairs in the morning, there was always some available. We had rental car and outside the hotel there is a big parking lot. It was easy to carry our kite surfing gears between the car and apartment. There was no Internet included in the apartment but we got a 3GB deal for 40€ and had good WIFI connection during our stay. The flat screen in the apartment was equipped with USB reader. We brought movies with us on an USB stick and just plugged it into the TV and could watch our movies easily. A few minutes walk from the place there is a great place for breakfast, lunch or dinner. To the city centre it’s about a 10 minutes walk. The walk between the centre and apartment felt safe. We saw some pictures on internet before we booked the place. When we came to the place we were positively surprised as the place was more spacious and fresher then we imagine from the pictures. We were really happy with our stay at this place and will stay here again next time we visit Cape Verde.

Reviewed 27 May 2013 by Marcus

Response:

Dear Marcus,

Thank you for taking the time to send such a detailed review. Your feedback will help travellers make a more informed choice and it has also given us some ideas on how we can improve. Tropical resort is quite new so finding the correct mix of things that make the perfect holiday is our aim for the next few months. Hopefully the combination of good management, tropical resort and being so close to one of the best beaches will give us the chance to set the scene for many more happy holidays to come. Thanks again for being the first to write a review the feedback is so essential and much appreciated.

Hope to see you back in Santa Maria soon…

Philip

MarcusReviewed in May 2013